Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world
Nelson Mandela

Patrons and Governance

With UWC schools and colleges in 18 countries and national committees and selection
contacts in more than 150, the international scope of the UWC movement is truly global.
The UWC movement also consists of more than 50,000 alumni and other members in virtually every country in the world. UWC International is governed by the International Board and UWC Council.
The executive arm of the International Board is the International Office, based in London.

President of UWC - Her Majesty Queen Noor of Jordan

Her Majesty's commitment to international understanding and in particular to peace-building initiatives is an inspirational example to members of the UWC international movement.

"The goal of our educational movement is not simply to produce educated young people
but also to nurture activists for peace and future leaders who can help resolve
the challenges within their own societies and contribute to building bridges between
communities and cultures within their regions and throughout the world."

Honorary President of UWC - Nelson Mandela (1918 - 2013)

Nelson Mandela has a long and personal connection with the UWC movement since his children and grandchildren attended Waterford Kamhlaba UWC of Southern Africa. Through his life-long defence of freedom and justice, Nelson Mandela encapsulates many of the ideals which UWC strives to achieve and provides great inspiration for students and alumni. 

"Education is the great engine of personal development.
It is through education that the daughter of a peasant can become a doctor;
that the son of a mineworker can become the head of the mine;
that the child of farm workers can become the President of a great nation." 

H.M. Queen Noor
Nelson Mandela
Nelson Mandela

UWC Maastricht

ALV UWC Maastricht
Frans Groutars (Chair)   Joan van Zomeren
Jaap Breugem

Board Cooperative UWC Maastricht
Hein Schreuder (Chair) Gabriël Zwart
Marielle Heijltjens Monique van Roosmalen
Angelique Paulussen

Board Foundation UWC Maastricht
Jaap Breugem (Chair) Hugo Peek         
Stan Berings Lonneke Wehrens
Onno Hoes

Share this article: